The Creative Mind Newsletter and Podcast
Creative Mind Audio
Elizabeth Gilbert on Self Acceptance
0:00
-14:24

Elizabeth Gilbert on Self Acceptance

"I’ve kind of been a student of self-acceptance my whole life because I’ve had to be."

Author Elizabeth Gilbert (“Eat, Pray, Love” and “Big Magic: Creative Living Beyond Fear”) was one of the speakers at the Self-Acceptance Summit produced by Sounds True.

Host Tami Simon: Let’s start right with self-acceptance as a topic that you care about – why is this an important topic to you personally

Elizabeth Gilbert: Well, I mean I’ve kind of been a student of it my whole life because I’ve had to be, because its absence – it’s moments of absence – in my life have brought me the darkest pain I’ve ever been in.

And the only way out of that pain of the absence of self-acceptance was to claw, study, fight, beg and inch my way toward it.

And it’s been what I’ve been up to for a long time, and it’s something that I still have to work on.

And there are times where I lose it. I’d have to find my way back to it again and again and again – which of course always means finding your way back to your heart – it’s the only place you’re ever gonna find it.

~~~~

Hear the full length interview and many others:
Self-Acceptance Summit recordings

Article with more details, quotes, videos: The Self-Acceptance Summit

A related article:
Elizabeth Gilbert on fear and courage and being creative.

...

Support the show

View selected episodes and articles with more resources: The Creative Mind Audio Podcast page on the main site.

0 Comments
The Creative Mind Newsletter and Podcast
Creative Mind Audio
Excerpts of interviews with artists, psychologists and others on creativity research, emotional health, high sensitivity, giftedness. Note: PAID episodes have free previews.