The Creative Mind Newsletter and Podcast
Creative Mind Audio
Creativity and Mental Health and Recovery - excerpt from interview with Sarah Fay
Preview
0:00
-4:41

Creativity and Mental Health and Recovery - excerpt from interview with Sarah Fay

Sarah Fay

Author Sarah Fay recalls: "I received six diagnoses and my first one came when I was was 12 and a lot of [my memoir] Pathological is about that.

"I think this is is something we're seeing now with young people on TikTok and Instagram - self-diagnosing but also receiving diagnoses.

"My experience taught me to associate emotions like anxiety with pathologies and diagnoses like Generalized Anxiety Disorder."

She adds, "And no one explained to me that even with a diagnosis it doesn't go away.

“And so much of my life was spent hoping that the next diagnosis was going to be the explanation, was going to be the reason, and that it would make my life easier in some ways..."

This audio is an excerpt from her video conversation "Creativity, Mental Health, and Recovery" at the Anxiety Super Conference - free Replay Weekend (50+ expert speakers) Sept 28-30 (2024), and recording packages available.

~~~~

Continued below with links to her book Pathological and to her Substack site, an excerpt from her book Cured: The Memoir, video excerpt from her conversation at the Anxiety Super Conference, and more.

Listen to this episode with a 7-day free trial

Subscribe to The Creative Mind Newsletter and Podcast to listen to this post and get 7 days of free access to the full post archives.

The Creative Mind Newsletter and Podcast
Creative Mind Audio
Excerpts of interviews with artists, psychologists and others on creativity research, emotional health, high sensitivity, giftedness. Note: PAID episodes have free previews.