The Creative Mind Newsletter and Podcast
Creative Mind Audio
Artists and creative people are likely to be highly sensitive, or introverted, or both
Preview
0:00
-3:14

Artists and creative people are likely to be highly sensitive, or introverted, or both

Stephen Spielberg, Idris Elba, Jessica Chastain

“I always felt awkward and shy.” Steven Spielberg

“I wouldn’t say I have much of an outgoing personality." Idris Elba

“I’m very sensitive in real life.” Jessica Chastain

This is an audio version of one of my articles on Medium, with comments by artists, psychologists and others about high sensitivity, as well as introversion and shyness.

These are separate experiences that share some qualities, and can overlap and interact for many of us.

Actor Idris Elba commented in an interview: "I’m pretty shy. It’s interesting how people describe me because I’m not Mr Life of the Party...people get disappointed when they meet me because they expect me to be really confident and exciting and I’m like, ‘nah I’m going home now.’”

And Jessica Chastain has said:

“I’m very sensitive in real life. I cannot not cry if someone around me is crying…even if it’s not appropriate.”

This tendency to react empathetically and more emotionally, such as more easily crying or being tearful, is among the qualities of highly sensitive people found by psychologist Elaine Aron and other researchers.

See more below, including link to the main article with videos, related articles and resources.

...

Listen to this episode with a 7-day free trial

Subscribe to The Creative Mind Newsletter and Podcast to listen to this post and get 7 days of free access to the full post archives.

The Creative Mind Newsletter and Podcast
Creative Mind Audio
Excerpts of interviews with artists, psychologists and others on creativity research, emotional health, high sensitivity, giftedness. Note: PAID episodes have free previews.